Member News

October 25, 2012
Paul A. Bizier PE, BCEE, F.ASCE

Texas Section member Paul A. Bizier PE, BCEE, F.ASCE received the 2012 ASCE President's Medal at the ASCE Annual Civil Engineering Conference in Montréal, Canada on October 19, 2012.

Only one of two selected by President of ASCE, Andrew W. Herrmann PE, SEC, F.ASCE for this honor, Mr. Bizier was recognized for his “passionate representation of ASCE interest to the American Academy of Environmental Engineers and for his superior skills communicating the Society’s positions on numerous challenging issues.”

The medal symbolizes his accomplishments and contributions as an eminent engineer to the profession, the Society and the public.

Mr. Bizier is Vice President of the Water and Wastewater Division at Pape-Dawson Engineers, Inc. in San Antonio, Texas.

Congratulations, Mr. Bizier!

Charles C. (Rick) Coneway PE, BCEE, D.WRE, F.ASCE
D. Wayne Klotz PE, D.WRE, F.ASCE

Texas Section members Charles C. (Rick) Coneway PE, BCEE, D.WRE, F.ASCE and D. Wayne Klotz PE, D.WRE, F.ASCE received the 2012 University of Houston Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Awards at a ceremony in Houston on June 1, 2012.

Charles R. (Rick) Coneway PE, BCEE, D.WRE, F.ASCE and Cathy Coneway at the University of Houston awards ceremony.The Distinguished Engineering Alumni Awards were established to recognize and honor alumni who have made significant contributions to society and whose accomplishments and careers have brought credit to the University of Houston Cullen College of Engineering.

Mr. Coneway is vice president, Austin Division manager at Doucet & Associates. Mr. Klotz is president of Klotz Associates, Inc. 

Congratulations to you both!

Martin Pflanz VIII PE

Martin Pflanz VIII PE, a member of the Texas Section and Central Texas Branch, has been selected to receive the Edmund Friedman Young Engineer Award for Professional Achievement from ASCE. 

He will be presented with this award at the 2012 Annual Conference in Montreal, Canada October 18-20, 2012. 

The Edmund Friedman Young Engineer Award for Professional Achievement recognizes younger members of ASCE (35 years of age or younger) who have:  advanced the profession; exhibited technical competence, high character and integrity; developed improved member attitudes toward the profession; and contributed to public service outside their professional careers.

Congratulations, Mr. Pflanz!


Mark K. Boyd PhD, PE, D.WRE
Charles R. (Rick) Coneway Jr. PE, BCEE, D.WRE, F.ASCE
James H. Duke Jr. PhD, PE, D.WRE
Martha F. Juch PE, CFM, D.WRE

Four ASCE Texas Section members - Mark K. Boyd PhD, PE, D.WRE; Charles R. (Rick) Coneway Jr. PE, BCEE, D.WRE, F.ASCE; James H. Duke Jr. PhD, PE, D.WRE and Martha F. Juch PE, CFM, D.WRE - received Diplomate, Water Resources Engineer (D.WRE) certification from the American Academy of Water Resources Engineers (AAWRE) and were honored at the Diplomate Induction ceremony at the EWRI's World Environmental & Water Resources Congress in Albuquerque, New Mexico on May 21. 

The D.WRE credential is a voluntary, post-license credential that provides recognition of advanced expertise in a specialty discipline of water resources engineering, advanced professional experience, strong ethics and a commitment to life-long learning and continuing professional development.

The annual AAWRE Induction ceremony is devoted to honoring and celebrating the new class of Diplomates and also give special recognitions to Diplomates and AAWRE Committee members that have made vast contributions in efforts aligned with AAWRE’s goals.

L-R: Mark K. Boyd PhD, PE, D.WRE; Martha F. Juch PE, CFM, D.WRE; James H. Duke Jr. PhD, PE, D.WRE

AAWRE's mission is to improve the practice, elevate standards, and advance the profession of water resources engineering by certifying engineers with specialized knowledge in water resources, recognizing the ethical practice of water resources engineering at the expert level, encouraging continued professional development for engineers, and supporting positions on water resources issues important to the public health.

More information about the Diplomate Induction ceremony can be found on the AAWRE website.

Congratulations, all!


Mark K. Boyd PhD, PE, D.WRE

ASCE Texas Section member Mark K. Boyd PhD, PE, D.WRE has been selected to receive the prestigious Outstanding Engineer of the Year award from the Texas Society of Professional Engineers (TSPE).

He will be honored with this award at the TSPE Conference and 76th Annual Meeting in Beaumont, Texas on Thursday, June 21, 2012.

The TSPE Engineer of the Year Award is the highest honor given to an individual TSPE member. Chapters nominate eligible members for consideration at the state level. Eligibility is restricted to engineers whose sustained and unique contributions have improved the public welfare and the advancement of his/her profession.

Dr. Boyd has been the principal engineer with LCA Environmental, Inc. in Dallas for the past 12 years.

Congratulations, Dr. Boyd!


Ashley N. Evans EIT

The J. Walter Porter Fellowship for graduate research in Texas water resources for 2012-13 has been awarded to ASCE Texas Section member Ashley N. Evans EIT, MS candidate at The University of Texas (UT) at Austin.

The award includes a gift of $2,000.00 funded by the Porter Memorial Trust.

Ms. Evans earned her BSCE from UT at Austin in 2011, and is currently pursuing an MS in the Environmental and Water Resources Engineering program there.

Ms. Evans and her adviser, Dr. Mary Jo Kirisits, are studying the fundamental relationships among the production of extracellular polymeric substances (EPS), phosphorus limitation, and headloss in biologically active drinking water filters. The long-term goals of the project are to decrease filter backwash frequency and increase water recovery in biological drinking water filters by controlling microbial EPS production.

Congratulations, Ms. Evans!


Cheng Lok Caleb Hing PhD, PE

ASCE Texas Section member Cheng Lok Caleb Hing PhD, PE has been honored twice recently!

He was selected as a 2012 Rising Star in Structural Engineering by ZweigWhite, the publisher for Structural Engineer Magazine and CE News Magazine. This honor recongizes young engineers (under 40 years of age) who are accomplished within their profession, education and in the community, and who are rising to the top. See the full list here.

Dr. Hing was also inducted as a Fellow of the Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE at the Structures Congress on March 31, 2012 in Chicago. The Structural Engineering Institute recently established the SEI Fellow (F.SEI) grade of membership to recognize a select group of distinguished SEI members as leaders and mentors in the structural engineering profession. For the entire list of SEI Fellows, click here.

Read his biography. Congratulations, Dr. Hing!



Powered by Affiniscape - Web Content and Association Membership Management